From Diahan Southard, Your DNA Guide here at Genealogy Gems: DNA testing is one of the most personal ways to get involved in your family history. You have DNA from your parents, who have DNA from their parents, and so it goes, back into your greats and great-greats. The technology of genetic genealogy is all about tapping into that DNA record and pulling out information that might be useful in your family history. DNA can do this for you in two ways:
First, it connects you to places. These are places where your ancestors came from a hundred, a thousand, or tens of thousands of years ago.
Second, it connects you to people. These people are your genetic cousins, other living people who have taken the same DNA test that you took. The similarities in your DNA tell you that you share a common ancestor. You can then examine the pedigree of your match and work with them to help verify your family history, or give you new ideas about who your ancestors might be.
Types of DNA Tests for Family History
You have three choices of DNA tests, each with its own unique purpose.
YDNA – Essentially, if you want to know about a male ancestor, you need to find a direct male descendant to be tested. So if I want to know about my 3X great grandfather Morris Mitchell, I need to find Morris’s son’s son’s son, etc. until I find a living male with the Mitchell surname who can be tested on the Y chromosome DNA (mtDNA) test at Family Tree DNA.
mtDNA – If I want to know about a female ancestor, let’s say Mary West, I need to find Mary’s daughter’s daughter’s daughter’s etc. child (male or female) to take the mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) from Family Tree DNA.
Autosomal DNA – For any ancestor, male or female, who is fewer than 5 generations from you, you can take the autosomal DNA test at either Family Tree DNA, AncestryDNA, 23andMe, or MyHeritage to find out more about that individual. Remember with the autosomal DNA that you always want to test the oldest generation first. So anyone who does not have both of their parents living should take the autosomal DNA test.
Companies that can Test DNA for Family History
There are several companies that test DNA for family history including:
Each of these companies is offering a very similar kind of test, but each has their own unique tools and databases. Decide which company you want to test with by evaluating things like:
their website accessibility
their company goals
and especially the size of their database
You can see a table comparing these companies here. The MyHeritage test is new, and is not on the chart yet, but will be soon.
Great (DNA) Expectations
The best thing you can do when setting out on your genetic genealogy journey is set good expectations. You can expect that the test will document the personal genetics of the person who takes it. By so doing, you are creating another genealogy record that will last for generations. This test will link you to your ancestors via your cousins. That means that you may take the test looking for ancestors, but what you get are cousins. It will take traditional genealogy work to turn those cousin connections into ancestral connections. Above buy prescription medicine overseas all, expect that this is a growing industry, and what we know today is different than what we will know tomorrow, so enjoy the journey!
DNA Resources
There are several comprehensive books on Genetic Genealogy out there. However, for the layman who just wants to understand their DNA test results and get some additional value from them, an entire book full of scientific explanations can be overwhelming and daunting. The following email is one we receive regularly:
Could you direct me to an understandable publication which explains dna results in layman’ terms ?
Thank you
Anne B.
Genetic Genealogy for the Layman
From Lisa Louise Cooke, host of The Genealogy Gems Podcast: I put myself in the category of “layman” when it comes to understanding DNA test results. And that’s why when I met DNA expert Diahan Southard at a genealogy conference, I immediately invited her to join Genealogy Gems. Diahan’s enthusiasm is contagious, and her ability to explain genetic genealogy to the layman is second to none!
I encouraged Diahan to immediately get to work putting her easy-to-follow explanations into a new series of quick reference guides. Genealogy Gems Publications is proud to publish her wonderful series of DNA quick reference guides for understanding your DNA results in plain language, and helping you get the most out of the investment you made in testing.
Start Here to Jump into Using DNA for Genealogy
Here’s a link to our DNA videos on YouTube with the author of the guides, Diahan Southard. As you will see, she has a ton of enthusiasm for helping the layman understand and get the most out of their DNA!
Diahan has a regular segment on my free Genealogy Gems Podcast where she answers your questions and provides invaluable insights into the latest in genetic genealogy. You can also find the complete archive of DNA articles at Genealogy Gems by clicking here. The most recent will appear first and then scroll down to read through the past articles.
For those who have tested with Ancestry DNA
If you took the Ancestry test, I would definitely recommend the following guides:
The beauty of the DNA quick reference guide series is that you can mix and match the guides to perfectly suit the testing you have done. We’ve published Diahan’s guides that delve into the testing companies FamilyTreeDNA and 23andMe, as well as the other tests available such as Mitochondrial (for your maternal line – both men and women can take this test) and YDNA (for your paternal line – only men take this test.)
Take Your DNA Test Results to the Next Level
If you’ve already tested and feel like you have a good foundation, then I highly recommend Diahan’s Advanced DNA Bundle. It will take your DNA test results to the next level by instructing you on the heart of what matters in plain English.
DNA in the News
As of March 28, 2017, AncestryDNA customers can see if their ancestors belonged to about 300 different Genetic Communities, small migratory groups that can be identified by DNA. In the next free Genealogy Gems podcast episode #202, you will learn more about it straight from Ancestry’s Chief Scientific Officer, Catherine Ball. For more information on Genetic Communities, watch the video below:
A new Welsh genealogy resource has been launched by the National Library of Wales! Other new genealogy records online: Canadian military bounty applications, English and Scottish newspapers, Peru civil registration, Swiss census, a WWI online exhibit, Massachusetts probate records, and Minnesota Methodist records.
(Full disclosure: This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated if you make a purchase after clicking on my links. Thank you for supporting the Genealogy Gems blog!)
Featured: Welsh Genealogy
Article hosted at Welsh Journals Online. Click to view.
The National Library of Wales has launched Welsh Journals Online, a new website with its largest online research resource to date. It contains over 1.2 million digitized pages of over 450 Welsh journals. “Providing free remote access to a variety of Welsh and English language journals published between 1735 and 2007, the website allows users to search the content as well as browse through titles and editions,” states an article at Business News Wales. “The website also enables users to browse by year and decades and provides a link to the catalog entry for each journal.”
The collection is described as containing the nation’s “intellectual history,” valuable whether you want to learn about attitudes of the day, find old recipes, or explore popular products and fashions. According to the above article, “Welsh Journals Online is a sister-site to Welsh Newspapers Online, which was launched in 2013 and which last year received almost half a million visits.”
Canada military bounty applications
A new database at Ancestry.com contains the names of Canadian militiamen who served between 1866-71 against the Irish nationalist raids of the Fenian Brotherhood and survived long enough to apply for bounty rewards beginning in 1912. Raids took place in New Brunswick, Ontario, the Quebec border, and Manitoba; members of the Canadian Militia in Ontario, Quebec and even Nova Scotia were called up in defense. The database includes both successful and disallowed applications and some pension-related records for those who were killed or disabled while on active duty.
England newspapers
The British Newspaper Archive recently celebrated putting its 20 millionth newspaper page online! They’re running a flash sale: 20% off 1-month subscriptions until 6/20/17 with promocode BNAJUN20. New content there includes historical news coverage of:
Norwich, Norfolk: over 7,000 pages from the Eastern Evening News for several years between 1884 and 1891 (total coverage for this paper planned to span 1882-1910).
Findmypast also recently announced 11 brand new titles and over 1.3 million new articles in its collection of historical British newspapers. New titles now available to search include Dudley Herald, Warrington Guardian, Willesden Chronicle, Goole Times, Weston Mercury, Annandale Observer and Advertiser, Bridgnorth Journal and South Shropshire Advertiser, Pateley Bridge & Nidderdale Herald, Fraserburgh Herald and Northern Counties’ Advertiser, Isle of Wight County Press and South of England Reporter, and Eastern Morning News.
Peru civil registration
Over a million indexed names have been added to FamilySearch’s existing collection of Peruvian civil registration records, which span over a century (1874-1996). According to the collection descriptions, these records include “births, marriages, deaths, indexes and other records created by civil registration offices in the department of Lima, Peru.”
Scotland newspapers
The British Newspaper Archive has added more newspaper coverage from Arbroath, Angus in eastern Scotland. Issues from 1873-1875 from the Montrose, Arbroath and Brechin Review have been added, bringing the total coverage to 1849-1919.
Swiss census records
A new collection of indexed images of the 1880 census for Fribourg, Switzerland is now searchable at the free FamilySearch.org website. According to the collection description, “Each entry includes name, birthplace, year of birth, gender, marital status, religion, occupation.”
This 1880 census entry image courtesy of the FamilySearch wiki. Click to view.
U.S.: WWI Online Exhibit
The Veterans History Project has launched a web exhibit complementing the Library of Congress’s exhibition “Echoes of the Great War: American Experiences of World War I. ” The three-part web exhibit will help tell the larger story of the war from the perspective of those who served in it,” states an announcement. “The first part is now available at loc.gov/vets/. Part II and Part III will be available in July and September 2017.”
The Veterans History Project has on file nearly 400 personal narratives from World War I veterans. Watch some of these narratives in the video below.
U.S.: Massachusetts probate records
The New England Historic Genealogical Society has added a new database: Berkshire County, MA: Probate File Papers, 1791-1900. “Drawn from digital images and an index contributed to NEHGS by the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court Archives, this database makes available 21,143 Berkshire County probate cases filed between 1761 and 1900.” Watch this short video for tips on navigating this collection:
U.S.: Minnesota Methodists
The cover of an original Methodist membership register from the Minnesota conference archive. Registers often include members’ names, family relationship clues, baptisms, marriages and more.
Now it’s easier to locate records relating to your Methodist ancestors in Minnesota. The archive of the Minnesota Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church now has an online catalog of its holdings. The catalog contains about 700 items, according to a Conference press release, and continues to be updated regularly.
A Methodist conference is a regional geographic unit of government, similar to but often larger than Catholic dioceses. Each conference has an archive, to which congregations may send their original records. The online catalog has collections of photographs, archival material such as records of closed churches, and library material such as books about Methodism in Minnesota. Currently the catalog shows 42 collections of original church records, which are often the most useful for genealogists.
Stay current with new genealogy records online!
Sign up for Lisa Louise Cooke’s FREE weekly e-newsletter at the top of this page.
Alaska genealogy researchers celebrate an important milestone. It’s the 150th anniversary of the Alaska Purchase. This special commemoration includes a photography exhibit, musical program, and much more. Keep reading to learn more about resources for Alaska genealogy.
The National Archives is celebrating the sesquicentennial (150 years) of the Alaska Purchase with a special Hidden Treasure Alaska panoramic photography exhibit at the National Archives at College Park. It will also include a presentation by the exhibit curator, a musical program at the National Archives Museum in Washington, DC, and a loan to Polar Bear Garden exhibit at the Anchorage Museum. The National Archives programs and exhibit are free and open to the public.
The Musical Program
The musical program will be held on Thursday, March 30, at 7:30 p.m. at William G. McGowan Theater, Washington, DC. On March 30, 1867, U.S. Secretary of State, William Henry Seward, signed the Alaska Treaty of Cession that purchased Russian America. To commemorate the life and contributions of Seward, the State of Alaska is sponsoring a performance of the Alaska chamber group, Wild Shore New Music. Wild Shore will perform the work of living composers who have found inspiration through their experiences with the natural beauty and indigenous cultures of Alaska. Reservations are recommended and can be made online.
The Exhibit
The Hidden Treasure exhibit will be at the National Archives at College Park, MD, on the lower level. Hidden Treasure dramatically captures the beauty of Alaska, as captured on film by U. S. Geological Survey (USGS) topographers from 1910-1932. These extraordinary images of more than 6,000 panoramic photographs from the collection were used, but then stored and remained unseen for decades. Thanks to the research, work, and photographic skill of National Archives expert Richard Schneider, these images can now be seen by the public in their original panoramic format for the first time. These images capture work-life in the Alaskan wilderness, surveying techniques, towns, and geological formations, such as the Columbia Glacier. See Richard Schneider’s related Prologue Magazine story: The Alaskan Frontier in Panorama – How the National Archives Preserved Early 20th-Century Photographs.
Schneider will discuss these historic panoramic photographs of the Alaska Territory in his presentation on Wednesday, April 12th at 2 p.m. EST. You may see it live streamed at the William G. McGowan Theater & YouTube.
Polar Bear Garden
Beginning March 3rd through September 17, 2017, The Polar Bear Garden exhibit will be on display at the Anchorage Museum in Anchorage, Alaska.
Archival and contemporary photographs combined with nesting dolls, cartoons, feature-length films, and Cold War propaganda will take viewers on a journey between Alaska and Russia since the purchase. It will further explore stereotypes, language, storytelling, boundaries, and crossings. The exhibit highlights are on rare loan from the National Archives and include the original cancelled check and President Andrew Johnson’s Ratification of the Treaty. More information about the Polar Bear Garden can be found online.
Alaska Genealogy
Your Alaskan heritage will likely include stories of great strength and perseverance. To begin your Alaska genealogy research, you may wish to review the FamilySearch Wiki article titled Alaska, United States Genealogy. In it, you will learn important tips like the fact that Alaska is not divided into counties, as nearly all the other states are. Instead, Alaska is divided into boroughs.
There is also a free guide on the wiki titled Step-by-Step Alaska Research, 1880-Presentthat you may particularly helpful. Among other things, it will help you located birth, marriage, and death records; wills and probates; and naturalization and immigration records.
Marriage record found online at FamilySearch.org in collection titled “Alaska, Vital Records, 1816-1959”
Additionally, the Alaska State Archives have resources available. They hold many records that contain information on individuals such as:
Lastly, check out the Alaska Genealogy online guide provided by the Alaska State Library. This basic guide of Alaska related genealogy resources is not intended to be comprehensive, but it is certainly a step in the right direction. Sources for several of the boroughs may be available in other Alaska libraries or through interlibrary loan at your local library. They include:
The Alaska State Research Guide Digital Download by Family Tree Magazine is a digital download you will want to have for your genealogy library. Trace your Alaska ancestors with the advice and resources in this four-page download. It includes:
a how-to article detailing Alaska history and records, with helpful advice on tracking your family there
the best websites, books and other resources for Alaska research, handpicked by our editors and experts
listings of key libraries, archives and organizations that hold the records you need
descriptions of the top historic sites for learning about your ancestors’ lives and times, including visitor information
timeline of key events in the state’s history
full-color map to put your research in geographical context
SHOW NOTES: A comparison of the top three genealogy websites and an update on the latest artificial intelligence news. Lisa interviews genealogy author Sunny Morton about her article “Three’s Company” from the March/April 2025 issue of Family Tree Magazine. They dive into a detailed comparison of the top three genealogy websites—Ancestry.com, FamilySearch.org, and MyHeritage.com—focusing on historical records, DNA tools, family tree features, and more. Sunny shares insights on how these platforms differ, their strengths, and practical tips for genealogists to maximize their research. Whether you’re a U.S.-focused researcher or tracing global roots, this episode has something for everyone.
Listen to Podcast Episode #293
To Listen click the media player below (AUDIO ONLY):
What Is a Historical Record and Does Its Definition Differ Between the Three Websites?
Timestamp: 00:31
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• Definition: A historical record is a document created in the past, ideally close to the time of the events it describes, offering a more accurate glimpse into history than later recollections.
• Differences: The definition varies slightly across platforms. Ancestry, FamilySearch, and MyHeritage count records differently—sometimes focusing on the primary person (e.g., the deceased on a death certificate) and sometimes including secondary individuals (e.g., parents or witnesses).
• Tip: Don’t assume every “record” is a unique historical document. A single certificate might be counted multiple times if it names several people. Check how each site labels the “primary person” to understand what you’re working with.
How Do the Number of Records Stack Up Across the Three Websites?
Timestamp: 04:43
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• Numbers Overview: Ancestry boasts ~60 billion records, FamilySearch ~66.24 billion (13 billion searchable names + 5 billion+ unindexed images), and MyHeritage ~32 billion.
• Ancestry: Strong U.S. focus; top 20 collections (e.g., city directories, yearbooks, newspapers) make up a third of its total, boosted by AI indexing of recent centuries. Less helpful for pre-1800 research.
• MyHeritage: More global, Euro-centric, with 40% of its total in its top 5 collections (e.g., family trees, newspapers via OldNews.com). Great for non-U.S. research.
• FamilySearch: Truly global, free, and diverse; top 20 collections are less than 20% of its total, plus 500,000+ digitized books. Hard to pin down exact counts due to unindexed images.
• Tip: Focus on “where and when” your ancestors lived. Use Ancestry for U.S. depth, MyHeritage for European roots, and FamilySearch for global coverage or record-loss areas.
What’s Your Elevator Speech for the Primary Strength of Each Website?
Timestamp: 12:50
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• Ancestry: U.S.-centric with vast records—start here for American research, paired with FamilySearch.
• FamilySearch: Free, global focus, no target customer—ideal for international searches and unique collections.
• MyHeritage: Euro-centric, excels in language translation (e.g., German trees)—perfect for non-English records and global connections.
• Tip: Before subscribing, browse each site’s catalog to see if it matches your research area. Combine platforms based on your needs—don’t skip one just because it’s not your “main” focus.
How Do They Stack Up for DNA Research?
Timestamp: 16:30
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• FamilySearch: No DNA tools—focuses on records, not genetics.
• Ancestry & MyHeritage: Both excel at DNA, making complex data accessible. Offer ethnicity estimates (improving over time) and match tools.
Ancestry: Groups matches by common ancestors; recently added shared matches of matches.
MyHeritage: “Theory of Family Relativity” maps person-to-person connections; accepts raw DNA uploads ($29 for advanced tools or free with subscription).
• Tip: Revisit DNA results every 3-6 months for updated ethnicity estimates and new matches. Rotate subscriptions if budget’s tight—your data stays, and hints accumulate.
How Do Their Family Tree Features Compare?
Timestamp: 23:26
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• Ancestry & MyHeritage: Private, individual trees you control—shareable if desired. Multiple trees allowed for testing theories. No source requirement, but tree checkers flag unsourced data.
• FamilySearch: One giant, public, collaborative tree—nothing private for deceased individuals. Emphasizes sources and reason statements to improve accuracy.
• Tip: Use online trees as “bait” for hints, keeping your full research offline in software. Politely ask public tree owners for sources if unsourced data intrigues you.
How Do They Compare for Searchability in Family Trees?
Timestamp: 29:45
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• All Three: Excellent search portals for minimal or detailed queries.
• FamilySearch Bonus: Search its tree even if you don’t contribute—great for harvesting clues about ancestors.
• Tip: Use tree searches strategically to uncover new leads or verify info, even if you’re not building online. Refine searches as trees grow to stay efficient.
How Do They Compare for Photos, Memories, and Stories?
Timestamp: 31:56
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• General: All are works in progress, with best tools on apps (not always ideal for big-screen users). AI-generated life histories check tree completeness.
• MyHeritage: Leads with photo tools (enhancing, colorizing, animating) and “My Stories” for living-generation narratives.
• Tip: Use MyHeritage’s photo animations to engage family—watermarked as AI-generated, they spark curiosity without claiming historical fact.
How Compatible Are They for Syncing with Desktop Software?
Timestamp: 36:28
Key Takeaways and Tips:
• MyHeritage: Free Family Tree Builder syncs with online trees.
• Ancestry: Syncs well with Family Tree Maker (despite separate ownership).
• FamilySearch: RootsMagic and others pull sections of its global tree.
• Tip: Prioritize sync compatibility when choosing a site—check software options before committing to an online tree platform.
All information was to the best of our guest’s knowledge as of the date of recording.
Latest advancements in AU and their application to genealogy research.
Timestamp: 48:11
1. Gemini Updates by Google. o New Features Announcement (March 2025):
Google’s Gemini app rolled out significant updates, available to try for free, with enhanced features for all users and premium options for subscribers.
2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental:
Offers file upload capabilities (crucial for genealogy context), improved reasoning, efficiency, and speed.
Advanced users (subscribers) get a 1-million-token context window, allowing more extensive project interactions.
Free users can test it with a one-month trial of Gemini Advanced.
Deep Research Tool:
Now upgraded with 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental, it searches and synthesizes web information quickly, producing detailed multi-page reports.
Available globally in 45 languages; free users get limited tries, while advanced users have expanded access.
Shows real-time reasoning, similar to Grok, enhancing transparency in research processes.
Personalization (Experimental):
Integrates with Google apps (starting with search) to tailor responses based on user history, e.g., genealogy-focused search patterns.
Users control personalization settings and can disconnect if desired.
2. Connected Apps Integration
Gemini now connects with Google Calendar, Notes, Tasks, and soon Photos (in English), allowing complex, multi-app requests.
Example: Genealogy applications could involve organizing research notes or creating itineraries from ancestral photo locations.
3. Gems Feature
A new customizable AI tool, free for all Gemini app users, enabling creation of personal AI experts for specific topics (e.g., genealogy).
Users can upload files and set instructions via the Gems Manager on desktop, tailoring it to repetitive research tasks.
Lisa plans to explore this deeply in upcoming premium videos and live streams, emphasizing its potential for genealogists.
4. AI Competition and Future
Gemini is positioned as a competitor to Grok, with features like file uploads and deep research mirroring Grok’s capabilities.
Lisa predicts AI will eventually replace Google search, with ongoing competition determining the leading AI tool.
5. Practical Tips / Getting Started with AI
Try Gemini at gemini.google.com; start with the free version, then consider the one-month trial of Gemini Advanced for full access.
Closing Note: AI tools like Gemini are like “shovels” for genealogists—essential for digging deeper and enhancing research efficiency. Stay tuned for more in-depth explorations in premium content!
Sign up today here. The Genealogy Gems email newsletter is the best way to stay informed about what’s available with your Premium eLearning Membership.
The Alaska State Research Guide Digital Download by Family Tree Magazine is a digital download you will want to have for your genealogy library. Trace your Alaska ancestors with the advice and resources in this four-page download. It includes:
